Info

The Comic Source Podcast

The Comic Source is the title of a group of podcasts focusing on comic books. It includes The Comic Source Podcast, The Top Cow Chronology Project, Creator Interviews, Convention Coverage and so much more. Grab your headphones and join us today!
RSS Feed
The Comic Source Podcast
2022
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2021
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2020
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
April
March
February
January


2019
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
November
September
August
May
March


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: April, 2022
Apr 28, 2022

Spawn #72 - Story - Todd McFarlane & Brian Holguin, Pencils - Greg Capullo, Inks - Danny Miki Todd McFarlane & Chance Wolf, Letters - Tom Orzechowski, Colors - Brian Haberlin & Dan Kemp

 

Wolfram continues to antagonize Spawn while Bootsy tries to play peacemaker. It's clear that Wolfram thinks he and Spawn have a lot in common though they are on different sides of the war between Heaven and Hell, while Spawn doesn't want to acknowledge that at all. This even leads Spawn to seek out other vampires later in the issue to defeat them and feel better about himself. The boy he rescues seems to have quite the secret though. Meanwhile we meet another new character who discovers the bad of necroplasm The Freak left behind.

Apr 27, 2022

Spawn #71 - Story - Todd McFarlane & Brian Holguin, Pencils - Greg Capullo, Inks - Todd McFarlane & Danny Miki, Letters - Tom Orzechowski, Colors - Brian Haberlin & Dan Kemp

 

An incredible fast-paced issue as the fall out of Spawn's death and return begins to be felt. We get a classic Spawn Cogliostro confrontation as the elder hellspawn urges Al Simmons to be more proactive. Wile thinking about this, Spawn is attacked by an entirely new character whose allegiances may surprise you, as well the person who comes to Spawn's rescue. Plus Sam and Twitch are eft searching for answers & Wanda feels abandoned by Terry.

Apr 27, 2022

Jace and Jay talk about a few of the books they have read for the week of April 27, 2022. More great war stories from AfterShock, then end of the futuristic Bylines in Blood and Book of the Week, The Naughty List. Blood-Stained Death makes it's debut and exceeds already lofty expectations. Also a new era of Spider-Man kicks off at Marvel. Plus a rundown on some other books you might want to be on the lookout for.

Apr 26, 2022

In this episode we discuss;

Spawn #70

SPAWN Daily

The Comic Source Podcast

 

Blake Whitlow Spawn Reading Order

Spawn #70 - Story - Todd McFarlane, Pencils - Greg Capullo, Inks - Todd McFarlane & Danny Miki, Letters - Tom Orzechowski, Colors - Brian Haberlin & Dan Kemp

 

Spawn is back! Just how was he able to be killed in the first place? The answer is in this issue as is a major freak out by Cyan. Plus the different factions of the homeless waste no time in wasting each other and we see The Freak get what he deserves.

Apr 26, 2022

In this episode we discuss;

Ax-Wielder Jon: Creator Owned Spotlight with Nick Pitarra

The Comic Source Podcast

 

Go Pledge and become part of the Ax-Wielder Jon Campaign

Follow Ax Wielder Jon on Twitter

Follow Nick on Twitter

Follow Nick on Instagram

 

Jace chats with super-talented comic creator Nick Pitarra. Nick gives his insights into his very personal project Ax-Wielder Jon. We learn how the story and it's eponymous character helped Nick's family through some challenges. We talk about about the complexity of the main character and how he draws from so many different inspirations of the things Nick loves as a fan. This book is going to be HUGE so be sure to get in early and grab some of the incredible rewards available in this campaign.

Apr 26, 2022

Jace goes solo in this one to chat about the DC titles hitting comic shops the week of April 26, 2022. We see the death of so many iconic DC heroes in Justice League #75, we get two more chapter sof the Shadow War with Deathstroke and Batman, plus the Trial f the Amazons comes to a close. Tons of great books this week.

Apr 25, 2022

Spawn #68 - Story - Todd McFarlane, Pencils - Greg Capullo, Inks - Todd McFarlane & Chance Wolf, Letters - Tom Orzechowski, Colors - Brian Haberlin & Dan Kemp

Sam and Twitch find the headless body of Spawn and try to take it ... somewhere? Meanwhile the different factions of homeless are ready to fight, but are willing to team up to take out Sam and Twitch. We also see Cyan have a major freak out and the last page is a big moment.

Apr 22, 2022

Jace has a great conversation with rising start Marvel writer Jed Mackay. They chat about hsi definitive Black Cat run, making Moon Knight accessible for new readers and so much more. Listen in and be sure and follow Jed on Twitter.

Apr 20, 2022

Jace chats with writer Eliot Rahal about his new graphic novel form Z2 Comics, Cheech and Chong Chronicles: A Brief History of Weed. Eliot gets a chance to tell and epic stoner adventure story with the legendary comedy duo that explores many of the tropes about weed through the years. A must-read for fans of Cheech and Chong and anyone who loves a good toke!

Apr 20, 2022

Jace and Jay talk abut a few of the books they have a had a chance to read for the week of April 20, 2022. Particular favorites include wolverine #20, narrated by Deadpool and Arrowsmith: Behind Enemy Lines #4 which continues to be an incredible melding of war and fantasy comic with gorgeous artwork. Plus Jace gives a run down on some other books you might want to be on the lookout for.

Apr 19, 2022

Jace and Rocky talk about part VI of the Wonder Woman-centric event, Trial of the Amazons. Cassie Sandsmark reveals the results of her investigation and the killer may surprise you. The narrative structure is also a bit of a surprise and we are not sure how well it works.

Apr 19, 2022

Great week of DC Comics releasing for 4-19-2022, led by Catwoman Lonely City #3 and Nice House on the Lake #8. The guys also really liked Batman The Knight #4 and Catwoman #42. Check oout our in-depth reviews for these issues plus more.

Apr 15, 2022

Jace chats with Jamieson Alcorn about his current Zoop campaign for White Ravens. This medieval fantasy epic talks much of it's inspiration from the long running Dungeons and Randomness podcast. Fans of the podcast will recognize some of the places and names, but this is an all new story. For anyone who is not familiar with Dungeons and Randomness, that's ok! This story totally stands on it's on as a rip-roaring fantasy story for all fans of D&D like adventure.

Apr 14, 2022

Jace chats with writer Zack Kaplan and his just released title from Dark Horse, Break Out. From the real world relevance to the amazing line work and colors by Wilton Santos and Jason Wordie, respectively. The guys also discuss Metal Society, an upcoming title from Zack at Top Cow, with art by Guilherme Balbi, and colors by Marco Lesko. Finally they touch on the Vault series coming later this year from Zack and John J, Pearson. There's a lot to be excited about from Zak and hi collaborators so give this one a listen.

Apr 13, 2022

Jace and Jay talk about some of the books they have read for the week of April 13, 2022, Nocterra and Break Out are particular favorites, plus we get the debut of a new horror title at Image, A town Called Terror and a new volume of Kaiju Score from AfterShock. Jace also gives a rundown of some other titles you might want to be on the lookout for.

Apr 12, 2022

Soild week of DC Comics as Rocky and Jace talk about the books hitting comic shops the week of April 12, 2022. Naomi faces family problems while the villain in Suicide Squad: Blaze faces down superman with no issue. Plus Green lantern comes to a close with a whole new role for John Stewart. All this plus deep dives into all the rest of the DC titles dropping this week.

Apr 12, 2022

Jace and Rocky talk about part V of the Wonder Woman-centric event, Trial of the Amazons. Just as the trial is about to start, disaster strikes and it seems as though the champions will not even get a chance to compete, but only time will tell.

Apr 12, 2022

Jace and Rocky breakdown the first issue of the sequel to the ground-breaking Flashpoint event. Flashpoint Beyond brings the dark reality back to life and stars Thomas Wayne trying to understand why the reality exists and why he is the only one who remembers how things should truly be.

Apr 8, 2022

Jace chats with composers John Murphy, Stephanie Economou and Kevin Kiner about their work and the similarities it has with colors n comics. Both set mood and emotion, plus they set you up for the story beats to come or bring you down after a big moment.

 

John Murphy
British film composer John Murphy is a multi-instrumental musician. He gained recognition in the film industry while working on films like Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, 28 Days Later, Sunshine, Kick-Ass, and recently The Suicide Squad. Murphy has worked with some of the industry's most respected and luminary filmmakers, including Danny Boyle, James Gunn, Guy Ritchie, Stephen Frears, Matthew Vaughn and Michael Mann. 

 

Stephanie Economou 
Stephanie Economou is an award-winning composer and violinist. She is the composer of the Netflix TV series Jupiter’s Legacy, the Lionsgate/Starz series Step Up: High Water, the second season of Manhunt: Deadly Games, Assassin’s Creed: Valhalla DLC “The Siege of Paris,” the Netflix series The Chair, and the upcoming LucasFilm/Disney+ documentary feature More Than Robots, among other works.

Apr 6, 2022

Jace chats with Cavan Scott about his discovery of American comics and passion for the characters from a young age. The guys dive deep into Cavan's creator-owned series at Vault, Shadow Service. There is also some Star wars: The High Republic talk and tons about the recently concluded Titans United series.

Apr 6, 2022

Jace and Jay talk about a few of the comics hitting shops the week of April 6, 2022, Black Widow comes to an end and breaks our heart that it is ending. We also get another fantastic debut from AfterShock with The Ocean Will Take Us and the third issue of She-Hulk is also very good.

Apr 5, 2022

Really great week of DC Comics as Rocky and Jace talk about the books hitting comic shops the week of April 5, 2022. The Second issue of Wonder Woman Historia makes the epic story more personal, a new Batman Beyond series get's started and the departure of Amanda Waller has thrown the Suicide Squad into disarray.

Apr 4, 2022

Jace chats with Eisner- Award winning writer David F. Walker about his current Zoop campaign for Imposter Syndrome. It's a collection of short stories with various artist wherein David explores different ideas and themes through stories as personal as dealing with bullies as a kid to zombies. Some quick talk about Bitter Root & Naomi also.

1